Chris Cheney’s Blog

Posted in FLOSS, Ubuntu by Chris on October 31, 2011

“There is a bit of a myth that power users don’t like and aren’t interested in usability and ease-of use,” Shuttleworth said. “I think that’s nonsense.”

Obviously it’s true most power users like usability and ease-of-use, which was the case with Gnome 2.32, they just don’t like being forced to use a tablet interface on a desktop or laptop, like with Gnome 3, Unity, or Windows 8. Of course Gnome 2 had its issues with Gnome developers continually removing features, or making them hard to access with ‘hidden’ settings in gconf, but overall it was pretty good.

Please keep tablet interfaces on tablets, and phone interfaces on phones (ie no more Android 2.3 on tablets).

I’ve personally switched to Xubuntu 11.10 until this failed industry experiment is over, or until Unity finally becomes as usable on my laptop as Xfce.

Shuttleworth: Linux Power Users Aren’t too Cool for Unity

Ubuntu on phones, tablets, TV’s and smart screens everywhere

Tagged with:

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ndubi Abenga (@NdubiAbenga) said, on October 31, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    Give Gnome Shell a chance. Three weeks at the least, and see. I did, and now anything else feels heavy and cumbersome. Even without modifying it with extensions, it’s orders of magnitude more coherently designed and well thought out than Unity.

    • David said, on November 1, 2011 at 12:23 am

      Gnome Shell was horribly slugglish and unusable (windows were black and displayed no content). Unity was slow, but usable. Gone back to “Gnome Classic”. My desktops run Unity, and I have no major gripes.

  2. bochecha said, on November 1, 2011 at 1:16 am

    > “Obviously it’s true most power users like usability and ease-of-use, which was the case with Gnome 2.32, they just don’t like being forced to use a tablet interface on a desktop or laptop, like with Gnome 3, Unity, or Windows 8.”

    My $dayjob involves creating a Linux distro, building packages, maintaining the build infrastructure, writing some code, etc… Do I qualify as a power user?

    Because if so, I loved GNOME 2. I really did. It was sober, simple and efficient.

    And then came GNOME 3… and I love it even more. It is more elegant (subjective opinion) and **much** more efficient. My workflow improved orders of magnitude with it, and I can’t stand anymore using GNOME 2 on the one computer that I still haven’t had time to upgrade.

    So, to the developers, please forcefully feed me more of the same goodness.

    • bochecha said, on November 4, 2011 at 2:50 am

      The last sentance of my previous comment has been somehow removed. Here it is again.

      —–
      And to the original poster, please don’t speak for us as if we all shared your opinion.
      —–

  3. frank1968 said, on November 1, 2011 at 3:22 am

    How come you use Xubuntu if you are forced to use a tablet interface?

  4. godric said, on November 1, 2011 at 4:59 am

    Why not stay with Xfce? It’s fast, reliable and gets out of the way.

  5. Craig M. Brandenburg said, on November 1, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I just switched from Ubuntu back to Arch and OpenBox. Thanks to Unity, I didn’t so much mind spending the day manually setting up my wireless scripts, the volume keys on my keyboard, and getting my laptop to do the right thing when I close its lid. Also, it’s nice having my RAM back.

    I’ve never heard of Xubuntu. Maybe that’s what I really want.

  6. Robin Catling said, on November 1, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Well said. At least I’m not the only dissenting voice on Unity. Rgds. RC

  7. Wirelizard said, on November 3, 2011 at 1:16 am

    Thank you, glad to know I’m not the only one on Planet Ubuntu with severe reservations about the whole Unity experiment…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

